Board of Directors


Gordon Arnold, Photo Courtesy of Gittings Photography

Gordon Arnold to Serve as 2020 CCSC Board President

This is not Gordon Arnold’s first rodeo. Ten years after first serving as Board President, Gordon is reprising the role.

“I’ve stayed involved because CCSC continues to ask for my help in ways that I think I can contribute,” said Gordon, a native Houstonian and life-long member of St. Luke’s United Methodist Church.

“Two decades ago, Michelle Shonbeck gave a talk at a breakfast club I am in,” Gordon remembers. “I was looking for a place that had a good record for community service and good stewardship of the time and money volunteers invested, so I volunteered.” The rest, as they say, is history.

Over the years, Gordon has served on CCSC’s Board, Finance Committee, Personnel Committee, Endowment Board (including as chair), Visioning Committee (as chair), and the Discernment Committee to decide how to proceed following CCSC’s flooding.

A graduate of the University of Houston Law Center, Gordon is the managing partner of Arnold & Saunders, LLP. He and his two daughters, a sophomore at University of Massachusetts Amherst and a senior at Episcopal High, share their home with two dogs and two cats.

Gordon sings in the St. Luke’s Chancel Choir and serves as a Stephen Minister. He also facilitates at the nonprofit Bo’s Place, in its program for families who have suffered recent loss.

Looking to the future, Gordon would like to see CCSC continue to grow its programs. “The coupling of Emergency Services with other long-term programs is critical. The more a program gives hope to parents and children the more effective, in the long term, the program can be,” he said. “And the type of hope that is needed is that the program is giving better chances to the children than they would have without it. All of CCSC’s programs, directly or indirectly, give that hope.”

Gordon Arnold, St. Luke’s United Methodist Church

Don Miller, St. John the Divine Episcopal Church

Judy Agee, St. Michael Catholic Church

Michael Hawes, St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church

Chris Matlock, St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church

Cathy Beathard, Bellaire United Methodist Church
Sandra Carson, First Christian Church
Pastor Clint Reiff, Rice Temple Baptist Church
Nathan Wiker, Christ the King Lutheran Church
Sue Zinni, Bellaire United Methodist Church

Jo Ann Fry, Faith Lutheran Church

Michelle Shonbeck, Christian Community Service Center

Recent Posts